The Scholarship Fund of MCMS

Congratulations to the 2020 Recipients!

Morton Scholarship: Joon Kim, MD

Morton Scholarship: Aleksander Mika, MD

Morton Scholarship: Stephen Hassig, MD


The Medical Scholarship Fund of the Monroe County Medical Society is a non-profit organization that uses funds available for annual scholarships for deserving medical students. The scholarship fund is managed by a volunteer committee. The number and amounts of scholarships are evaluated each year based on the monies available through donations and fundraising.

Some Facts

The MCMS Scholarship Fund has been in existence for nearly 50 years, and during that time has helped fund the medical school educations of countless area students.  Most, but not all, of the scholarship recipients attended the University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry. Many of these students are now practicing physicians in the Rochester area.

Contributions come from MCMS members and a number of others who wish to lend their support to this worthy cause. The committee members donate their services. As a result, over 90% of all contributions are returned to the students.

Scholarship Committee

Edith L Dale, MD - Vice President

Jeffrey Allen, MD - Treasurer

Michael A Carafos, MD

Christine Chruscicki, MD

Susan Danahy, MD

Surinder Devgun, MD

Edith Grannum, MD

Pasquala Iannoli, MD

Hemant Kalia, MD

Ruth Morton, MD

Nagendra Nadaraja, MD

Rola Rashid MD

B.J. Revill, MD

Lisa Smith, MD

Sally Stookey 

John Teeters, MD

Balazs Zsenits, MD

For Scholarship Applications, click here.


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software