MCMS Announces Edward Mott Moore Recipients

Monday, June 07, 2021 1:42 PM | Jennifer Casasanta (Administrator)

Rochester, NY, June 4, 2021 - The Monroe County Medical Society has recognized Michael Mendoza, MD and Phyllis Jackson with its 2021 Edward Mott Moore Physician and Layperson Awards. This award recognizes individuals whose dedication to the community goes above and beyond the usual call of duty.

2021 Edward Mott Moore Physician Award
Michael Mendoza, MD

Dr. Michael Mendoza is the 9th Commissioner of Public Health for Monroe County.  He is also appointed as Associate Professor at the University of Rochester in the Departments of Family Medicine, Public Health Sciences, and Nursing.  As Commissioner of Public Health, Dr. Mendoza’s vision is to improve population health by strengthening the collaboration between clinical medicine and public health in our community.  He has a particular focus in addressing the disparities in health and health care here in Monroe County.

Dr. Mendoza joined the Health Department in 2016.  In this role Dr. Mendoza oversees the health department’s $61 million dollar budget and over 250 employees and staff whose responsibilities span a diverse array of services designed to preserve and improve public health in Monroe County.

Prior to 2016, Dr Mendoza served as Medical Director for Highland Family Medicine.  During his seven years in this role, Dr Mendoza oversaw the adoption of the Epic EMR, Meaningful Use, certification as a Level 3 Patient Centered Medical Home, and helped to lay the foundation for expanded team-based care, the current expansion of HFM, and the newly certified Nurse Practitioner residency program. 

Board certified in family medicine, Dr. Mendoza continues to see patients as a primary care physician at Highland Family Medicine, and he continues to serve as a teaching physician on the inpatient service at Highland Hospital.  He received his MD and undergraduate degrees from the University of Chicago, his Masters in Public Health from the University of Illinois, and his Masters in Business Administration from the Simon Business School here at the University of Rochester.

MCMS Announces Edward Mott Moore Recipients

2021 Edward Mott Moore Layperson Award

Phyllis Jackson, Common Ground Health

As a community wellness project manager, Jackson works closely with the faith community, other organizations and community influencers to promote health, wellness and self-care management. She focuses on alleviating health care disparities through a variety of outreach efforts, including health screenings and counseling at health fairs and community events. Jackson oversees the recruitment and training of more than 100 volunteer health advocates.

Deeply involved in the Rochester community, Jackson volunteers for the National Kidney Foundation, American Red Cross, WXXI, the Black Leadership Commission on AIDS, and the Rochester Faith Collaborative. She is the founder of the Interdenominational Health Ministry Coalition and leads “Renewing of the Mind,” a mental health education-training program.

A native of Geneva, New York, Jackson earned a registered nursing degree from Los Angeles Valley College and a bachelor's in science in organizational management from Roberts Wesleyan College. She also holds a Certificate of Gerontology from St. John Fisher College and is a certified HIV educator and counselor for the New York State Department of Health.

Prior to joining Common Ground Health, Jackson held nursing management positions at Visiting Nurse Service of Rochester and Monroe County, and HCR Homecare Agency. Most recently, she was the CEO/Executive Director of His Hands Free Community Nursing Center in Rochester.

About the Edward Mott Moore Award

Each year the Monroe County Medical Society presents the Edward Mott Moore award to a physician and a layperson whose lives reflect the qualities exemplified by the career and service of Edward Mott Moore, M.D., - a physician, teacher, investigator, professional leader, and contributor to the Rochester community.  Dr. Moore was Surgeon-in-Chief at St. Mary’s Hospital from its opening in 1857 until his death, at the age of 88, in 1908.

About Monroe County Medical Society

Over 1,200 physicians are members of the Monroe County Medical Society/7th District Branch. The Monroe County Medical Society is a non-profit organization formed to extend medical knowledge and to advance medical science, to elevate the standards of medicine, to promote reforms and to enlighten and direct public opinion in regard to the problems of health and medicine for the best interests of the people of Monroe County. For more information visit or email

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software