MCMS Medical Scholarship Fund


The Medical Scholarship Fund of the Monroe County Medical Society is a non-profit organization that uses funds available for annual scholarships for deserving medical students. The scholarship fund is managed by a volunteer committee. The number and amounts of scholarships are evaluated each year based on the monies available through donations and fundraising.

Some Facts

The MCMS Scholarship Fund has been in existence for nearly 50 years, and during that time has helped fund the medical school educations of countless area students.  Most, but not all, of the scholarship recipients attended the University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry. Many of these students are now practicing physicians in the Rochester area.

More Facts

Contributions come from MCMS members and a number of others who wish to lend their support to this worthy cause. The committee members donate their services. As a result, over 90% of all contributions are returned to the students.

Scholarship Committee

Holly Garber, MD
Jeffrey Allen, MD
Michael A Carafos, MD
Vice President
Christina Cashimere, MD
Edith L Dale, MD
Peg Ehmann
Basya Herbert, MD
Pasquale Iannoli, MD
Raymond J.Lanzafame, MD
T.C. Lewis
Timothy Lum, MD
Nagendra Nadaraja, MD
Christine C. Platt, MD
Rola Rashid MD
B.J. Revill
Rebecca Wortman
Elizabeth Warner, MD

2016 Recipients

The highly competitive 2016 MCMS Scholarship has been awarded to Rebecca Royzer. The Morton Scholarship was awarded to David Paul, MD, MS. Read more.

How Do I Support the Monroe County Medical Society Scholarship Fund?

Funding the scholarship is an ongoing endeavor. Please consider making a tax deductible donation. If you desire to donate in honor or memory of someone, please click here to download an acknowledgement form. Please mail donation to:

Medical Scholarship Fund
c/o Monroe County Medical Society
The Park at Allens Creek
132 Allens Creek Road
Rochester, NY  14618


Contact Jennifer Rosenzweig, Membership Coordinator & Support Service Coordinator, via email or call (585) 473-7573.